In the heart of Provence

Beautifully situated in a stunning natural environment of olive and pinewoods, far removed from a commercial monoculture model, the "Quatre Tours" vineyard is made up of land parcels of varying sizes that abut and surround the villages of Bastides, MAS and Cabanons. Here, on shady terraces overlooking the Mont Saint Victoire, it's a treat and pleasure to savour with friends a cool glass of delicious " Quatre Tours " wine !
Sun, cicadas, relaxation...
You are indeed well and welcome in Provence!

...hear at the foot of beautiful Mont Saint Victoire

Close to historic Aix-en-Provence, the renowned " Quatre Tours " winery enjoys a very favorable geographical location deep in the heart of continental Provence (hot and dry in summer - occasionally cold in winter). Between 200 and 400 meters above sea level the vineyard stretches from the slopes of the Trévaresse at the foot of Mont Saint Victoire, the "sacred mountain" frequently painted and made famous by Cézanne, and beautifully situated. Wherever you are in the vineyards, you can see it. Imposing itself naturally on the surrounding landscape, unmistakable, with its shattered rocks and ever-changing colors, the perennial protector of the vines.

 

In the footsteps of Cézanne, between light and long endurance

Bathed in Mediterranean sunshine and refreshed by the Mistral, our vineyards have been able to make the best of the terroir to produce fresh and fruity wines. Quite homogeneous, this terroir comprises several microclimates and stretches over the communities of the AIX countryside. Our soil is composed of argilo-limestone marls, sometimes a little sandy and covered with myriad fine & coarse gravel torn from the mountain by Mistral winds. To the North, the climate is mainly Continental tempered by endurance to wind and weather, to the South the influence is more Mediterranean. It is this diversity of weather that shines upon our vines - and which leads us to value the very special light of this terroir that inspired some of history's greatest painters.

AOP Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence

Since the first vine plants brought here by the Phoenicians in 600 BC, the vine has been an integral part of the history of Aix-en-Provence and its hilly countryside. From the Romans to the monks of the abbeys in the middle ages, from epoch to epoch it flourished and integrated itself into the Aixois landscape. It was in the fifteenth century that the Roy René known as"the King Vine" gave it his stamp of nobility. In 1880 Phylloxera ravaged the vineyard san only one fifth of the old vines survived. Then began a long journey towards a reconstruction and qualitative production that, finally in 1985, was rewarded with the creation and protection of an Appellation d'Origine Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence. The Quatre Tours is one of the major players in the Appellation and is constantly holding aloft the banner of the typical Aixois wines of the region.

Au coeur de la Provence

Bien intégré dans son environnement entre oliviers et pinède, loin du modèle de la monoculture, le vignoble des “Quatre Tours” est constitué de parcelles de tailles variables qui côtoient villages, bastides, mas et cabanons. Là, sur les terrasses ombragées avec vue sur la Sainte Victoire, c’est un doux plaisir de savourer entre amis un bon verre de vin des “Quatre Tours”.
Soleil, cigales, décontraction, pas de doute…
Vous êtes bien en Provence !

Au pied de la Sainte Victoire

A proximité immédiate d’Aix-en-Provence, Les”Quatre Tours” bénéficie d’une situation géographique protégée en plein cœur de la Provence continentale (chaud et sec l’été et parfois assez froid l’hiver). Entre 200 et 400 mètres d’altitude le vignoble s’étend des coteaux de la Trévaresse au pied de la Sainte Victoire. La “montagne sacrée” maintes fois peinte et magnifiée par Cézanne est là, et bien là. Où qu’on se trouve dans les vignes, on la voit. Elle s’impose naturellement, comme une évidence, avec ses roches dévastées et ses couleurs changeantes, protégeant les vignes.

 

Sur les traces de Cézanne, entre lumière et Durance

Baignées de soleil méditerranéen et rafraîchies par le Mistral, nos vignes ont su tirer le meilleur du terroir pour produire des vins frais et fruités. Assez homogène, ce terroir comprend plusieurs microclimats et s’étend sur les communes du pays d’Aix. Les sols sont composés de marnes argilo-calcaires, parfois un peu sableux et recouverts de cailloutis plus ou moins grossiers arrachés à la montagne. Au nord, le climat est d’influence continentale tempéré par la Durance, au sud l’influence est plus méditerranéenne. C’est cette diversité qui illumine nos vignes et nous conduit à suivre la lumière si particulière de ce terroir qui a inspiré les plus grands peintres.

AOP Coteaux d’Aix-en-Provence

Depuis les premiers plants de vigne apportés par les phocéens en 600 avant Jésus-Christ, la vigne fait partie intégrante de l’histoire d’Aix-en-Provence et de ses coteaux. Des romains aux moines des abbayes au moyen-âge, à chaque époque elle prospère et s’intègre aux paysages aixois. C’est au XVe siècle que le Roy René dit “le Roi Vigneron” lui donne ses lettres de noblesse. En 1880 le Phylloxéra ravage le vignoble et laisse seulement un cinquième des anciennes vignes. Commence alors une longue marche vers une reconstruction et une production qualitative que la création de l’Appellation d’Origine Protégée Coteaux d’Aix-en-Provence vient récompenser en 1985. Les”Quatre Tours” est un des acteurs majeurs de l’Appellation et n’a de cesse de porter haut et fort la typicité des vins aixois.